Modded WWE 2K19 Portability? (Porting to New System)

CyberOcelot

I'm about to build a new gaming rig. I should be excited, but I'm crippled with fear of losing my WWE 2K19 build. 

I'm relatively new to modding WWE 2K19 (approx 1 year) and I've since spent over 1500+ hours building a pretty elaborate game with several Universe Modes running with several brands each. It gives me the jitters just thinking about starting all over. I'll never have the time to get it back to how it is now if all of my work is lost. So, I'd like to be as thorough as possible. It's literally the most important item in my rig to me. So, I'm very nervous.

Can we please have a discussion here about best practices to port a modded WWE 2K19 to a new system?

Let's start with your general advisements, and I'll get into more specific concerns as we go. 

The obvious first step is to back up the modded and vanilla game directories and save game.

Would the modded game directory and save game work in the new system?

Here are the new specs (In case it matters)...

Windows 10 Pro
i9 12900K
32GB DDR5 5200 RAM 
Nvidia RTX 3090 Founders Edition

Edited by CyberOcelot
Typo

• CyberOcelot changed the title to Modded WWE 2K19 Portability? (Porting to New System)

Follow these steps:

1. Fully Install the game on the new PC via Steam.
2. Run it once.
3. Completely Exit Steam.
4. Rename/Delete the folder of the new install.
5. Copy the game folder that includes all the mods from the old PC so it's in the same place as you installed the (now renamed/deleted) game to on the new PC.
(6. If you don't have cloud saves enabled in Steam, copy your old save folder to the new PC's save folder location as well.)

You'll be able to play your fully modded game on your new computer now.

More information on how to copy and replace files and saves can be found at the create backups wiki entry.