Modding Tools & Misc. Questions

CAWs4Concern

Hey all, I didn't see an introduction section so I guess I'll just wing it. Sorry for the long post! If anyone was around on the old No Mercy Zone I was on there as The Crow. I used to make simple attire hacks and CAWs. I'm just getting into modding this game on my PS3.

First of all, while I know that I'm about 6 years late to the party, I wanted to say thank you to everyone who has worked on these games and shared their creations/knowledge with the rest of us. The tutorials on here have been incredibly insightful. Using the tuts provided I have successfully added alt attires to a handful of wrestlers (Big Show Retro, HBK Retro, DiBiase, Hollywood Hogan, etc.) And I'm excited to start really delving into this game by adding new wrestlers and entrances and such.

I understand that there are a lot of people out there that look for handouts (both here and in life) and I don't want to be one of them. I'm willing to put in the work if you point me in the right direction. And hopefully one day I'll be able to give back to the community, as well. With that said, I have a few questions I was hoping to get answered by the vets:

1. To add the aforementioned alt attires, I used X-Packer 8, which if I have the time line right was the final free addition of that software (released for WWE 13). However, it can't do much else when it comes to 2k14 (save editing, adding wrestlers, etc.) I was perusing through the forums and the modding wiki and noticed there were a bunch of free tools that people are using with the newer PC games. Can these tools be used with last gen games, as well? Or do I have to bite the bullet and get X-Packer?