PS3 Vs 360 Modding

LordBarker

Firstly, I’m no expert modder. That’s reserved for guys like UndertakerWLF, Rooster, Kim666, Tekken57, Judders, BugsyBoy, Matyhaus and many others! Also I know some of this info might be available elsewhere, and presented more succinctly. However, I thought it would be useful to put all of this in one place since I’ve gotten a number of PMs regarding modding on PS3, and the difference between the PS3 and 360. So rather than answer each PM individually I thought it would be useful to do a kind of summary on how modding varies, and hopefully provide some useful info on PS3 modding. I have written this quite quickly, so apologies for any errors or slow approaches to doing things, these are ways that worked for me. All credit goes to Kim666 and UndertakerWLF who were incredibly helpful and patient when I was PS3 modding.

My setup is as follows:

PS3 Rogero 4.46 CEX (Setup for PSN access)

360 Slim Matrix Triple NAND (Allowing LIVE access and RGH)

For me this was the best route and I did both mods myself, and am able to download CAWS from the retail side and inject into the CFW/RGH side.

*First of all on the PS3 everything needs to be real-time modded – more on that later. However a key tool on the PC side is CCAPI Debugger. I use a custom version for Rogero 4.46, since the standard version does not work. As far as I know this is not readily available so I have uploaded it here:http://www20.zippyshare.com/v/53312409/file.html

*Some useful files for PS3 modding that differ from 360. These assume you have unlocked all official DLC packs:

-Misc_dlc03.pac (used for attires) – Found in: GAME/BLES01937/USRDIR/Catalog5/pac

-MenuHD.pac (This needs to be changed to: enuHD.pac when replacing renders for your Community DLC) – Found in: GAMES/BLES01937-[WWE2K14]/PS3_GAME/USRDIR/PAC/MENU

-When editing strings, the file you need is 5001, not 5000. That is if your system language is set to UK. I could not find US.