Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

PC paint tool for svr2010


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 DRAVEN

DRAVEN

    It can't rain all the time...

  • 1,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester,UK

Posted 20 December 2009 - 05:38 PM

PTExplorer

PTExplorer is a tool that will let you edit paint tool files for svr2010 on your PC allowing you
to import your own images


So here's the sequence of events that will work,

1. Transfer your .PT (Paint Tool) file to PC and extract images using PTExplorer as (*.bmp)
2. Open the bmps in PSP or Photoshop and edit them
Remember that since black is the transparent color in the in-game pallette you need to change the
black slightly in PS so it doesnt appear as a transparent in game.
3. Save the bmps of the same size & color depth.
4. Reimport the bmps into the .pt file to slots of your choice with PTExplorer, but don't use
slot 0
5. Save the *.PT file from PTExplorer
6. Use modio to rehash and resign the .pt file
7. Transfer it to the XBox using Xplorer360, overwriting the old Paint Tool .pt file
8. Go to the Paint Tool in-game: the game will detect a corrupted file and when asked to
overwrite the file, do it! The game will correct the file, make slot 0 the default logo,
but keep the other logo's intact.

Download
PTExplorer V1.6

Made by Mr.Mouse of:
Xentax


Latest update:

- added readme.txt
- fixed a colour bug when loading from BMP. May even help corruption problem in-game.
- fixed bug with slot 10 and importing
- added View Alpha to show the intensity of each colour in the image in-game
- added tool-tip text when hovering over a button
- fixed dialogs

Bugs:

- the threshold for transparency seems to be wider than just (0,0,0).
I've had a couple images where I used the color black set to about (3,5,6) and the game
still recognized those as transparent. I ended up making those parts lime green
in PSP/PhotoShop, then changing them to black with the in-game paint tool.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvMMlfinY7k

Thanks to FatalArms for this video tutorial...

#2 Smacktalks

Smacktalks

    Smacktalker!

  • 24,082 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle, UK

Posted 20 December 2009 - 06:46 PM

Awesome! This should come in really handy for CAW creators.

Do you need a modded 360 to be able to get the save file? or is there another way to do it?

#3 DRAVEN

DRAVEN

    It can't rain all the time...

  • 1,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester,UK

Posted 20 December 2009 - 09:06 PM

No modded xbox needed you just have to hook you 360 HDD to your PC

#4 ALL STAR

ALL STAR

    Main Eventer

  • 4,593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 20 December 2009 - 09:23 PM

Really thats cool might give this a go, how would you got about hooking up the 360 to the pc though?

#5 Aero

Aero

    Life's A Pisser When European

  • 17,546 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland

Posted 20 December 2009 - 10:19 PM

theres a few options, get an xport or get the transfer kit xbox gave out when the 120gb elite hdd's came out to copy all ur old crap across to the new hdd, check ebay!

#6 DRAVEN

DRAVEN

    It can't rain all the time...

  • 1,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester,UK

Posted 21 December 2009 - 01:12 PM

Or you can open your HDD and conect it via SATA port in your PC

#7 DRAVEN

DRAVEN

    It can't rain all the time...

  • 1,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester,UK

Posted 24 December 2009 - 10:34 AM

PTExplorer V1.5 releasted should fix slot 10 bug.

-Now has palletes in the tool...

#8 svr_x36010964 (Guest)

svr_x36010964 (Guest)

Posted 29 December 2009 - 04:17 AM

how open is program????

#9 DRAVEN

DRAVEN

    It can't rain all the time...

  • 1,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester,UK

Posted 29 December 2009 - 08:54 AM

use winzip or 7zip.. its a 7 zip file...

#10 Petchy (Guest)

Petchy (Guest)

Posted 06 January 2010 - 09:17 PM

Petchy off caws here, how would I go about getting my save data off my HDD using a USB Adapter, and how would I extract the paint tool file? What softwares would I need etc.?

#11 DRAVEN

DRAVEN

    It can't rain all the time...

  • 1,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester,UK

Posted 06 January 2010 - 11:11 PM

Usb ??? you need Xplorer360 photoshop or paint shop pro... the rest is in the 1st post.. ;)

#12 InsaneSabu!

InsaneSabu!

    Jobber

  • Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 06 January 2010 - 11:14 PM

Well, I shall be using this.. .. so wondered where I'd go from there onwards because it mentions rehashing etc, or does Xplorer do all that business? :)

Edited by InsaneSabu!, 06 January 2010 - 11:51 PM.


#13 Smacktalks

Smacktalks

    Smacktalker!

  • 24,082 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle, UK

Posted 07 January 2010 - 07:17 AM

Nice one Petchy, I think I might look into getting one of those, seems much easier.

#14 DRAVEN

DRAVEN

    It can't rain all the time...

  • 1,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester,UK

Posted 08 January 2010 - 09:16 PM

1st post Updated

#15 IamPayne

IamPayne

    Jobber

  • Pip
  • 353 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Dark Side of Reality

Posted 16 February 2010 - 08:13 AM

Well, I shall be using this.. .. so wondered where I'd go from there onwards because it mentions rehashing etc, or does Xplorer do all that business? :)


On dial-up here so I can't see the video you mentioned. But you can download Modio for free and it has its on HDD explorer and it has a resigning tool. As long as you have your HDD hooked up to your computer you can inject your pt file directly back to your HDD from the resigning portion of the Modio program. I did this for the first time with success on a Suicide character.

Now I do have a question. Any .bmp file that I put back into PTXplorer always shows up as completely transparent. So for a real logo or picture that I would want to put in, I would have to manually go over all 256 colors and make them viewable. That's a pain in the rear. Anyone else who uses this know how to correct this problem without using the Paint.net program that's listed in the video? I don't mind doing it manually with a logo that is only 10 colors or less, but manually setting 256 is extremely time consuming and too much of a hassle.

#16 Evil Jeff (Guest)

Evil Jeff (Guest)

Posted 19 February 2010 - 10:21 AM


Well, I shall be using this.. .. so wondered where I'd go from there onwards because it mentions rehashing etc, or does Xplorer do all that business? :)



Now I do have a question. Any .bmp file that I put back into PTXplorer always shows up as completely transparent. So for a real logo or picture that I would want to put in, I would have to manually go over all 256 colors and make them viewable. That's a pain in the rear. Anyone else who uses this know how to correct this problem without using the Paint.net program that's listed in the video? I don't mind doing it manually with a logo that is only 10 colors or less, but manually setting 256 is extremely time consuming and too much of a hassle.



I had the same problem - if you use the recommended app 'Paint.net' this takes care of the problem - I was stubbornly trying to use Photoshop as I was more familiar with it

#17 joseonassis

joseonassis

    Jobber

  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 February 2010 - 01:15 AM

PTExplorer

PTExplorer is a tool that will let you edit paint tool files for svr2010 on your PC allowing you
to import your own images


So here's the sequence of events that will work,

1. Transfer your .PT (Paint Tool) file to PC and extract images using PTExplorer as (*.bmp)
2. Open the bmps in PSP or Photoshop and edit them
Remember that since black is the transparent color in the in-game pallette you need to change the
black slightly in PS so it doesnt appear as a transparent in game.
3. Save the bmps of the same size & color depth.
4. Reimport the bmps into the .pt file to slots of your choice with PTExplorer, but don't use
slot 0
5. Save the *.PT file from PTExplorer
6. Use modio to rehash and resign the .pt file
7. Transfer it to the XBox using Xplorer360, overwriting the old Paint Tool .pt file
8. Go to the Paint Tool in-game: the game will detect a corrupted file and when asked to
overwrite the file, do it! The game will correct the file, make slot 0 the default logo,
but keep the other logo's intact.

Download
PTExplorer V1.6

Made by Mr.Mouse of:
Xentax


Latest update:

- added readme.txt
- fixed a colour bug when loading from BMP. May even help corruption problem in-game.
- fixed bug with slot 10 and importing
- added View Alpha to show the intensity of each colour in the image in-game
- added tool-tip text when hovering over a button
- fixed dialogs

Bugs:

- the threshold for transparency seems to be wider than just (0,0,0).
I've had a couple images where I used the color black set to about (3,5,6) and the game
still recognized those as transparent. I ended up making those parts lime green
in PSP/PhotoShop, then changing them to black with the in-game paint tool.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvMMlfinY7k

Thanks to FatalArms for this video tutorial...

This only works on 360 or those it work on ps3 as well ?

#18 DRAVEN

DRAVEN

    It can't rain all the time...

  • 1,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester,UK

Posted 22 February 2010 - 10:55 AM

360 only..

#19 SANTINI316 (Guest)

SANTINI316 (Guest)

Posted 03 September 2010 - 06:00 PM

ptexplorer does not work!!!!!

#20 Legacy

Legacy

    Jobber

  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 08:10 PM

Anyone have this? You can't register on Xentax anymore without paying which is bullshit. Can someone with this upload it for me? I had it but lost it :(